Ondo 2024: APC To Screen Aiyedatiwa, 15 Aspirants on Friday

Sharing is caring!

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has is to conduct screening exercise for the 16 aspirants jostling for the party’s ticket ahead of the April 20 Ondo State governorship primary election on Friday 12th April, 2024.

The two-day screening, earlier scheduled to commence on Thursday, was postponed because of the extension of the Eid-el Fitr holiday by the Federal Government.

This was disclosed by a senior official of the APC organising directorate, who spoke on condition of anonymity.

The source also explained that the exercise will however come up shortly after the inauguration of a seven-member Ondo Governorship Screening Committee and another five-man Screening Appeal Committee by the National Working Committee of the party, which comes up at 9.00am at the national secretariat of the party in Abuja on the same day.

According to him, the Governorship Screening Committee will be chaired by former Deputy Governor of Gombe State, Senator Joshua Lidani while a former member of the House of Representatives, Bimbo Daramola has been selected as his Secretary.

Other members of the screening committee include Pastor Jones Erue, High Chief Second Bakor, Magaret Duru, Prof. Chukwudi Ledirick and Hon. Abdul Rahim Balogun.

The 16 aspirants who bought the nomination forms included Governor Lucky Ayiedatiwa; business mogul and senator representing Ondo South district, Jimoh Ibrahim; notable APC chieftain, Olusola Oke; former President of Nigerian Medical Association, Prof. Francis Faduyile; mechanical engineer, Dr Funmi Waheed-Adekojo and APC National Vice Chairman (South West), Isaac Kekemeke. Others are Akinfolarin Samuel, Olusoji Ehinlanwo, Okunjimi Odimayo, Adewale Akinterinwa, Olugbenga Edema and Gen. Ohunyeye Olamide, Morayo Lebi, Garvey Oladiran Iyanjan and Ifeoluwa Oyedele.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *