ONDO 2024: Aiyedatiwa Clinches Party Ticket

Sharing is caring!

Governor Lucky Aiyedatiwa has been declared winner the All Progressives Congress governorship primaries in Ondo State.

The final outcome of the exercise was announced officially in Akure by the Chairman of the election committee and Governor of Kogi State, Usman Ododo following the collation of results from 17 out of the 18 Local Government Areas of Ondo State.

The returning officer of Ifedore local government had reported violence in all the wards, leading to cancelation of results in the local government.

Declaring the results after the final collation, the chairman of the election committee, governor Ododo said governor Aiyedatiwa polled 48, 569 votes to defeat 15 other aspirants who contested the primary election, which was concluded on Sunday after the election committee declared the primary inconclusive on Saturday.

According to governor Ododo, former deputy speaker in the state, Mayowa Akinfolarin, came second with 15,343 votes, while Chief Olusola Oke secured the third position with 14,865 votes.



Lucky Aiyedatiwa: 48,569

Wale Akinterinwa: 1,952

Olusola Oke: 14,915

Mayowa Akinfolarin: 15,343 

Jimoh Ibrahim: 9,456

Isaacs Kekemeke: 1,045

Gbenga Edema: 395

Ohunyeye Olamide Felix: 424

Jimi Odimayo: 490

Olusoji Adewale Ehinlanwo: 492

Morayo Lebi: 290

Diran Iyantan: 348

Francis Faduyile: 353

Ifeoluwa Oyedele: 462

Funmilayo Adekojo: 529

Funke Omogoroye Judith: 115


Total registered voters: 171,922

Total accredited voters: 95,178

Total valid votes: 95,178

Speaking before the party’s electoral officers who presented the results from the 18 council areas, Governor Ododo urged other aspirants to be loyal to APC and support the winner towards ensuring that the party won the governorship election in November.

Meanwhile, Governor Lucky Aiyedatiwa has appreciated members of the All Progressives Congress, APC in Ondo state for the overwhelming support given him during last Saturday primary election which culminated in his victory.

The governor in his acceptance speech at the Government house,Akure, also appreciated President Bola Tinubu, the national leadership of the APC and the election committee headed by Kogi state governor, Mr Usman Ododo for providing a level playing ground for all aspirants.

The highly elated Governor Aiyedatiwa saluted the courage of the fifteen other aspirants urging them to see the contest as a family affair and work for the victory of the party come November 16, this year.


The internally orchestrated heavy politics within our party, APC, in search of our flag-bearer in the forthcoming gubernatorial election has come to a conclusion today with the emergence of a candidate as declared by the Governorship Primary Election Committee under the chairmanship of His Excellency, Governor Usman Ododo, the Governor of Kogi State.

Let me at this time acknowledge and thank all the aspirants who threw their hats into the ring in the family contest to be the flag-bearer: Hon. Mayowa Akinfolarin, Chief Olusola Oke, SAN, Sen. Jimoh Ibrahim, Mr. Wale Akinterinwa, Hon. Isaac D. Kekemeke, Hon. Gbenga Edema, Mr. Ohunyeye Olamide Felix, Hon. Olujimi Odimayo, Mr. Olusoji Ehinlanwo, Morayo Lebi Esq, Prince Diran Iyantan, Prof. Francis Faduyile, Engr. Ifeoluwa Oyedele, Mrs. Funmilayo Waheed Adekojo and Engr. Funke Omogoroye.

Your participation has created so much awareness within and outside our party. You mobilized our members and removed apathy. You have also brought in numerous new members into the party. All of these have enriched our democracy and strengthened our party in the State.

Democracy sometimes, after a contest like this, comes with discordant tunes. But this is not the time to hold grudges against anyone but for all of us to come together to work for the success of our great party so as to remain in power.

We will all gain in this party, though at different times, if we keep faith. I salute your courage and keen interest to lead the State towards development. It is your right and you are qualified and worthy members of our party.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *