FG Inaugurates Committee on Implementation of Oronsaye Report

Sharing is caring!

The Federal Government has inaugurated a Committee on the implementation of the recommendations on the review of reports and White Papers on Restructuring and Rationalization of Federal Government Parastatals, Agencies and Commissions.

The Secretary to Government of the federation, George Akume, while inaugurating the Committee on behalf of President Bola Tinubu stressed that the implementation of the White Papers on the report which would involve the merger, relocation, subsuming or scrapping of some Parastatals, Agencies, and Commissions is aimed at reducing cost of governance and streamlining efficiency across the governance value chain.

Akume outlined the general guidelines of the Committee as follows:

“Review current mandates to understand the existing functions, responsibilities, and objectives outlined in the mandates of the Agencies.

“Identify redundancies and overlaps or conflicting objectives among the mandates of different organisational units.

“Define strategic objectives to ensure the revised mandates align with the strategic objectives and priorities of the government.

“Engage key stakeholders and gather input and feedback on the proposed revisions to the mandates.

“Draft clear, concise, and actionable revised mandates for the organisations involved in the restructuring.

“Ensure the revised mandates comply with all applicable laws, regulations, and policies governing government operations.

“Obtain necessary approvals from relevant authorities for the revised mandates.

“Effectively communicate the revised mandates to employees and stakeholders.

“Implement the revised mandates effectively and monitor their implementation to identify any issues or challenges”.

The committee has a 12 week deadline to submit its report.

While the chairman of the committee was not named, members of the committee are the SGF; the Attorney General of the Federation/Minister of Justice, Lateef Fagbemi SAN; Minister of Budget & Economic Planning, Senator Abubakar Atiku Bagudu; Head of the Civil Service of the Federation, Dr Folashade Yemi Esan; Special Adviser to the President, Policy & Coordination, Usman Hadiza Bala; Director-General Bureau of Public Service Reform, Dr Dasuki Arabi; Senior Special Assistant to the President on National Assembly Matters (Senate), Senator Abdullahi Gumel; Senior Special Assistant to the President on National Assembly (House of Representatives), Hon. Ibrahim Olanrewaju; Principal Secretary to the President, Hakeem Muri Okunola; and, Permanent Secretary, Cabinet Affairs Office, Richard Pheelangwah.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *